A Short Break That’s Just Too Long

20111202-074609.jpg

Next Wednesday, a group of friends are heading up to Cumbria for three days of walking in the hills.

Last year I was one of the group, and the winter weather made for a wry memorable weekend. Using Keswick as a base we had magical snow all around.

This year, I’m back working in the travel industry, and more precisely, in the world of IT. For me this means that November/December is spent trying to shoehorn improvements into our systems in time for the peak booking season that everybody in the industry hopes will materialise as usual.

This means that I won’t be going on the road trip from the south coast to Cumbria, but will have to vicariously enjoy the hills via texts/tweets and browsing the excellent Striding Edge website.

If you’re considering a visit to the Lake District then I also heartily recommend www.golakes.co.uk which won a Travolution award recently for Absolute Media. It’s the “official website of Cumbria Tourism” so is an ideal place to start your research.

I’ll be heading into the South Downs National Park for some trail running on my traditional two day weekend, so I won’t be too hard done by….

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment